<samp id="gs2as"><tr id="gs2as"></tr></samp>
  • Current:Home > Exhibition > 2019

    Bienenstock Furniture Library names 2019 design winners

    Time:2019-03-07 12:20:26    Share:

    The Bernice Bienenstock Furniture Library board of directors announced the winners of its two 2019 design competitions last week.

    John Lalevee, a student at Appalachian State University in Boone, N.C., won first place in the furniture design competition for his chair, Cromulent, competing against 31 other entries.

    “Cromulent was designed to advance the Mid-Century Modern ideal of using materials for what they are good for,” said Lalevee. “Cromulent uses wood for straight sections and aluminum for angled joinery, utilizing each material where it can serve the structure best.”

    Lalevee won a $5,000 scholarship and a one-year membership to the International Society of Furniture Designers (ISFD). Additionally, his university will receive an additional $1,000 to fund academic programs.

    The second place winner, Dymon Johnson from the University of Houston, will receive a $1,500 scholarship to be applied to continuing his education.

    Judges in the furniture design category included: Dudley Moore Jr., Otto & Moore; Scott Coley, D Scott Coley Designs; Royale Wiggin, Thayer Coggin; Danny Davis, Davis Furniture; Richard Frinier, Richard Frinier Design Studio; and Charles Sutton, Charles Sutton Design.

    In the interior design competition, entrants were asked to design a space —surrounded by a park like setting — that would serve as both a day spa and residence for the owners, a doctor and physical therapist.

    Britnie Cowling’s design concept, called Kodama, won over 29 other entries. The design was named after Japanese folklore creatures known for healing weary travelers.

    “The design concept for The Kodama Healing Retreat began with my interest in Japanese folklore and mythology and the emphasis the contest program put on “green plants,” said Cowling, a student at the Design Institute of San Diego.

    Cowling will receive a $5,000 scholarship and a one-year membership to the American Society of Interior Designers for her win. Additionally, her university will receive an additional $1,000 to fund academic programs.

    The interior design competition’s second place winner, Kirsten Montalbano from Virginia Tech, will receive a $1,500 scholarship to be applied to continuing her education.

    Judges in the interior design category included: Christi Spangle, Barbour Spangle Design; Kara Cox, Kara Cox Designs; Bri Verstat, Barbour Spangle Design; Gwen Emery, North Carolina State University; Jessica Alpert, Gensler; June Anderson, ASID; Rose Dostal, RMD Designs, and Marilyn Russell, Forum Architecture.

    The annual furniture and interior design competitions are a collaborative effort among the ISFD, ASID and the Bernice Bienenstock Furniture Library. The library founded the competition and awards the scholarships from its foundation. The ASID and ISFD help to sponsor the competition by providing projects and judging.

    <samp id="gs2as"><tr id="gs2as"></tr></samp>
  • 免费视频看片a,国产成在线观看免费视频,99视频免费热线直播,一级免费视频a,精品亚洲国产成人综合亚洲国产第一页